Financial advice (from a cyclist)

Now that I’m 30*, racing season is over, and the extension is going towards its end, I figured it was time to finish my tax return. This can be surprisingly complicated if you, like me, have lived in several different countries. And if you’re severely disorganized. And if you are financially oblivious.

The IRS wants to know that I have a Swedish bank account with 14 cents in it. (Why do I have that? I don’t know! I already said I’m financially oblivious!)

So I did what every reasonable 30-year-old would do, or so I believe: I gave up. I’m paying a nice gentleman in a fancy-schmancy office downtown to figure it out for me.

With the tax return hopefully properly filed soon, my thoughts continued onwards to financial planning. After all, I have those 14 cents stashed away in Sweden, I also found $50 invested in some random company on the Swedish stock market, and who knows what the coins in the jar on top of my fridge are worth.

I’m thinking bikes would be a sound investment. Besides, the rules state the the correct number of bikes to own is n+1, where n is the number of bikes currently owned – and I only owned n bikes! So when I found an appropriate time trial frame on eBay, I made the appropriate calculations, but more importantly, avoided the inappropriate calculations.

Inappropriate calculation that I did not perform:
– Considering my road bike with clip-on aerobars compared to an actual time trial bike: what is the cost in dollars per second saved in time trials?

Appropriate calculation that I did perform:
– Assume a total cost of final bike build of $2000. I won $10 in a time trial a couple of weeks ago. If we assume that I will win $10 every time I enter a time trial in the future, this bike will have paid for itself after only 200 time trials. Sweet!

Inappropriate calculation that I did not perform:
– Total cost of entry fees for said 200 races.

As a result of my thorough calculations and ingenious financial planning, this beautiful frame arrived today:

I will build this up with parts that I find throughout the winter, so this will be both a money sink and a time sink before it’s even done! That’s a successful financial investment if you ask me.

So, if you have an awkward chunk of money left in your wallet at the end of the month every once in a while and you’re considering how to invest it, bear in mind:

  • The correct number of bikes you should own is one more than you currently have.
  • The IRS couldn’t care less about your bikes, so rather than investing in stock which will just make your tax return more complicated, buy bikes!

I would like to conclude this post with a photo from last week’s meeting for the Support Group for Girls with Training Plans. I had bought the time trial bike seen above, and Tina had bought a new road bike frame as well as a cyclocross bike, so this called for a celebratory dinner:

Tina with fish soup

* I love saying “now that I’m 30”, almost anything can be prefixed with that!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Financial advice (from a cyclist)

  1. Bret Lobree says:

    I like the idea of investing in bikes and still pine for a Lynskey cross bike. Sadly, however, I am already at s-1 (the other equation re number of bikes)

  2. For those of us who are single, s = ∞. HAHA! I WIN!

  3. mia says:

    Haha. Dagens ilandsickeproblem?

  4. Pingback: Update on investments | ?!

  5. Michelle says:

    Or s=cyclist. ALSO WIN!

Leave a Reply

