Ready for Christmas

It’s the night before Christmas! Real Christmas ™ that is, a.k.a. Christmas Eve, none of that Christmas Day bullshit that Americans do.

After some grocery shopping, some cleaning, and finally dusting off some Christmas decorations, I’m pretty much ready for it. Well, except I did the majority of the cleaning last night, and now it’s messy again.

And here’s proof that I have Christmas decorations. Like all good Swedes (and some bad ones), I’ve hung paper stars in my windows:

Living room star

Bedroom star

My mom sent me a package! A tea light holder with a little turbine, it spins when the candle is lit:

We had a more advanced version of this when I was a kid. Instead of random letters* it had angels spinning around. And there were little rods hanging down from the angels that would hit a set of bells as they spun around, making noise that kind of drove my parents crazy as I sat and stared at this for hours. Of course, I did my best to increase the heat and thus the speed and the noise. That’s what kids are for!

Christmas trees are too much of a hassle, but I’ve had Christmas branches the past few years. Just a few fir branches in a vase, with ornaments. Very civilized. None of that constant sweeping of needles to deal with. This year it appears I’m too lazy, unless I decide to stop on the way home from my ride tomorrow and get some branches to stuff in the back of my jersey – but that sounds very uncomfortable.

But I guess I have a Christmas… cable?

Christmas cable

At this point, I figured I may as well go all out and have a Christmas frame this year.

Christmas frame

* Well, not that random – it says “Merry Christmas”, but in Swedish – “God Jul” – because we’re that much more efficient.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ready for Christmas

  1. Vivi says:

    Ohhh I love the second star! Soooo beautiful! xx

Leave a Reply

